EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Big Bore Kits-Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 05:00 PM
bm1961
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Big Bore Kits-Recommendations

Newbie here looking to upgrade my bike which belonged to my dad, who passed away a few years ago. He rode his 89 FLHTC for about 55K miles before he passed away. Since inheriting the bike, I have done some cosmetic upgrades, added chrome and other stuff, but am now looking at pulling the jugs to fix some oil leaks and figured while they were off, I might consider going to a big bore kit. What will work on this bike without machining the cases and who sells the best kit for the money? Also, is it any benefit at upgrading to a 6 speed tranny to cut the revs down while on the highway. This think turns around 3 grand on the interstate. Thanks.

Old 02-27-2009, 08:33 PM
t150vej
HDF Community Team
Received 1,813 Likes on 1,176 Posts

To answer your intial question - There is no "big bore" kit that does not require case boring for the EVO. There is an aftermarket kit that will give you 3 more cubic inches with 10.5:1 pistons, but the increase in performance will never equal the cost. There's an endless number of mods you can do and untold thousands of parts people who will more than willing to take your money so you can have "more power"

Otherwise...
They say advice is only worth what you pay but I'll offer this free of charge. The bike is 20 years old and I'm assuming near stock. (?) Maintain it and keep it that way because every penny you spend to "modify" it for performance, will devalue it -period. A bone stock bike has much better re-sale or trade-in value. And you don't need to take my word for that, ask ANY motorcycle dealer salesman, they'll tell you the same.