EVO All Evo Model Discussion

evo parts help

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2009 | 08:31 PM
97wideglidenh
|
Intermediate
Red face evo parts help

o.k. need some help from those who have "been there,done that". i am a very good mechanic by trade(cars,diesels,trucks,many chevy v8s,jeep engine swap to tbi chevy,liftkits.bla,bla) Its my first harley engine and cant screw it up. so,, 1997 wideglide.drilled out mufflers,cv carb w/ jet kit(think its stage 1?) hypercharger,roller rockers,adj,push rods,screamn eagle coil and oil cooler. i have the heads and jugs off, id like to get "the oil fix" and use james base gaskets.so far so good.are all head gaskets the same thickness? id like good quality ones but thinner to bump compression, even a little bit.i can lap the valves myself, and im going for a ev-27 cam, ive read here i might have to change the gear to my old one? does it only go on 1 way? if not it can be off timing a lot!! next is would anyone buy off e-bay i found the ev-27 for $125. and the gaskets for $30(engine set) to $100 for a upper end set. makes me wonder....oh, i have done all the work to the bike myself too. thanks for any input. i have searched here and got lots of info. just need alittle more. hopeing the heavy hitters like MP, and T150VEJ and others can help thanks . dave

Old 02-08-2009 | 09:22 PM
mtnlvr
Road Warrior

Stock gasket is .045", a .030" James or Cometic is pretty popular.

Got my EV-27 from American Classic Motors for $108 a few years back. And yes, if you don't see significant wear on your stock cam's gear, use it on the new cam. And yes, it has to be installed on the cam correctly...it is not foolproof, nor rocket science. You just need to mark it well and have access to an arbor press or a shop that can do it for you.