Cylinder Studs pulling out

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2007, 09:27 PM
EasyJoe
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cylinder Studs pulling out

Hey everybody,
A while back I had a bore job done. The guys who did it went out of business. This week I blew a head gasket. When I took it apart I found two of the cylinder studs are
pulling out of the crank case. What'sthe cure for this and how is it done. It's a 1992 EVO.

Thanks in advance, Easy

Old 08-31-2007, 09:33 PM
JBaker421
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Cylinder Studs pulling out

HeliCoil inserts are stronger than the original. Some manufacturers of various items use them as oem in aluminum for various things for that reason.

I'm not a bike mechanic and I don't know if they work on your block but I can't imagine why not.

Old 08-31-2007, 09:47 PM
EasyJoe
Novice

Thanks, J
HeliCoils were one of my thoughts, but a shop told me I had to take the engine out and split the cases before I could drill. I was hoping not to do that as it's only one cyl/ two studs.

Old 09-01-2007, 06:50 PM
hotrod351
Road Warrior
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

i had the same problem, leaking head gasket and found out the front stud had pulled out of the case. put a heli-coil in and solved the problem, the mech. said the heli-coil was 10 times stronger than it was before, have you ever tried to pull a heli-coil out, next to impossible. if i ever tore my engine all the way down id heli-coil all the case holes then sleep tight.

Old 09-01-2007, 06:57 PM
DeJavu
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You shouldn't have any problem drilling in frame. You do need to be real carefull not to get chips anywhere in or near the crank, cover the piston and crank cavity well and use some grease on the drill and tap to hold chips, drill slow and let up several times to break the chip as it comes out. Take it carefully and you'll be OK.

Old 09-02-2007, 08:57 AM
blueglide88
Tourer