EVO All Evo Model Discussion

berring/wurring noise ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 12:05 AM
tomtuna1978
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default berring/wurring noise ?

ok guys!!! im new to this sight and harleys!!! i posted a question on the soft tail forum,and didnt really get too much info. ive also done a search and found nothing. this noise is starting toget worse and its bugging me!!! ive got a 99 nightrain and im hearing a wirring noise comming from the cam area,it sounds like a berring is going bad kindof. now... im a mechanic and am not affraid to to tare this babby apart,i just dont wanna tare it apart and have a lot of down time.like i said im new to harleys,only had her for a year or so,so thats why im askin this here. please help this is my babby and i dont want her to get anny worse!!! thsnks!!!

Old 07-10-2007, 02:29 AM
lowglide88
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: berring/wurring noise ?

I dont own a TC88.. but if I'm not mistaken I thought that there was a problem with eitherthe cam bearings or the rod bearingson the early TC's... I'm not 100% which ones..I would contact the HD dealer and ask...sorry I couldn't be more infromative

Old 07-10-2007, 03:04 AM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

ORIGINAL: lowglide88

I dont own a TC88.. but if I'm not mistaken I thought that there was a problem with eitherthe cam bearings or the rod bearingson the early TC's... I'm not 100% which ones..I would contact the HD dealer and ask...sorry I couldn't be more infromative
He doesn't own a TC88. I made the same mistake thinking he did in his other thread.

Old 07-10-2007, 05:34 AM
notlost_nc
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

It may be the infamous INA cam bearing heading south. It's not too difficult to replace.
You should be able to knock it out in an afternoon easily. Don't wait too long, the
bearing has been known to cause major damage.

Old 07-10-2007, 08:19 AM
crampfan
Cruiser