EVO All Evo Model Discussion

What's your preference?

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2015, 09:49 PM
wombat457
Road Master
Received 302 Likes on 188 Posts
Default What's your preference?

Ever since I started riding, back in 92 or 93, I've always or predominantly ridden alone. Nowadays, I still prefer to ride alone and not to have to worry about other people. That kinda sounds selfish I guess but I pretty much like to go and stop where and when I want. I'm not all that much into highway riding either so that kinda limits having a riding mate where I am anyway.

Anyway, I was wondering what you guys prefer, riding one up or in small groups, with a mate or club rides etc.

Old 04-02-2015, 11:01 PM
Ape_Hanger
Road Master
Received 26 Likes on 14 Posts

Solo, if my wife wants to hop on the back that's cool. I have a small group of people from church that I ride with once or twice a year. Large group rides with strangers are a no go for me.

Old 04-02-2015, 11:13 PM
jekyllandglide
Intermediate
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I've done the majority of my riding alone. Back in the day I'd ride behind my dad (how I got started riding). I would say if I am with 1 or 2 people I trust then I am fine. But I don't prefer to ride in large packs because inevitably there are gonna be enough idiots to make it a PITA. Either trying to show off, slingshot-ing, can't maintain their line in their lane and so on. A couple years ago I took a 3000 mi trip and when people asked who I was going with and I told them no one they were all flabbergasted. I wouldn't mind riding with 1 or 2 other people, but I don't know anyone...so alone I go!

Old 04-02-2015, 11:15 PM
wombat457
Road Master
Received 302 Likes on 188 Posts

Ape Hangar,

Have to admit, I'd love to ride with my wife but she is real nervous about getting on the bike. I don't rally blame her but it would be nice to do some day rides with her.