Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

New starter for 94 FLSTN?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 10:46 AM
allenodell
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New starter for 94 FLSTN?

I am a so-so mechanic. A few years ago I installed 0.20 over Screaming Eagle high compression pistons in my 94 FLSTN. A big improvement, but I think they might be the cause of a recent problem. My battery is fresh and doesn't show any signs of problems.

Sometimes it feels like the bike is really struggling to turn over, then the next time I hit START it will turn over readily and start right away. Every once in awhile, when it is working hard to turn over, there will be a really loud, alarming bang. It sounds like it's coming from the cases. Is the engine reversing direction when I hear this? Is the starter just old and needs replacing? Is there any way to check the starter without taking it off the bike? If I have to take it off I might as well install a new starter.

Thanks to everyone, especially the guys who helped with my pushrod question.

Old 03-18-2012, 05:06 PM
NDMECH
Intermediate

What is happening when the motor cranks slowly is that the rear cylinder landed on the compression stroke when you shut it off. What you can do to help is to install compression releases in yer cylinder heads because with high compression piston this problem will most likly return even with a higher out put starter

Old 03-18-2012, 05:21 PM
allenodell
2nd Gear
Default More questions