Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Metallic noise at low RPM

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2024, 04:46 AM
nosoyantix
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Metallic noise at low RPM

Hello,
First, apologice for my english.

Im a CVO ultra classic 110SE 2007 owner with 31.000Miles.
Last day going back to home a metallic noise started in my engine. It sounds more at low/lowmid RPM, when engine its running at 2000rpm it dissapears or stabilize. I tried to locate it as broken support but didn't found anything. I suspect it sounds in the right level, oils are ok.
On video air filter is dismounted to check valve screws.
Any idea where to start checking? i have some knowledge and tools but open random parts its crazy for me.

Regards.

Attached Files
File Type: mp4
video_2024-01-16_11-44-54.mp4 (8.26 MB, 44 views)

Last edited by nosoyantix; 01-16-2024 at 04:53 AM.
Old 01-16-2024, 05:59 AM
Jackie Paper
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,005 Likes on 4,196 Posts

Juan.

You need a two ear mechanic's stethoscope with a prob on the end to isolate the noise. Sounds travel all around and using your had or a screw driver on one ear doesn't do very well.

Once you here the noise the loudest at, look here what's under that area

Wear often happens on the tension shoes running on the chains that drive the cam shafts. Caution.. just guessing here.

https://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche...avidsonmc/2007

Last edited by Jackie Paper; 01-16-2024 at 06:35 AM.
Old 01-16-2024, 06:42 AM
nosoyantix
Intermediate

Originally Posted by Jackie Paper
Juan.

You need a two ear mechanic's stethoscope with a prob on the end to isolate the noise. Sounds travel all around and using your had or a screw driver on one ear doesn't do very well.

Once you here the noise the loudest at, look here what's under that area