Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Piston skirt wear and cylinder condition.

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2023 | 09:00 AM
04fxd92
|
2nd Gear
Default Piston skirt wear and cylinder condition.

Hey guys so I’m in the process of swapping out my crankcases due to a broken motor mount tab. As I removed cylinders and pistons I notice some skirt wear on the rear of both pistons. Is this a normal amount or is this caused by something like flywheel runout or rings improperly installed? And do they look repairable.

Also the intake side of the heads seam to have had some tooling done. Can someone confirm that’s this isn’t how they come stock.

This is my first time tearing down a motor. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to look.

Old 02-11-2023 | 09:22 AM
PureHybrid
Road Master

Plenty of wear on the piston, I'd replace it while I was in there. Probably due to heat. How many miles? Heads have been ported

The following users liked this post:
04fxd92 (02-11-2023)
Old 02-11-2023 | 09:32 AM
04fxd92
|
2nd Gear

Originally Posted by PureHybrid
Plenty of wear on the piston, I'd replace it while I was in there. Probably due to heat. How many miles? Heads have been ported
I’m definitely going to replace it. I just need to figure out what piston size I need to match the cylinder because it’s definitely bored over a bit. The bike has 22k

Old 02-11-2023 | 09:47 AM
chopper_man
Stellar HDF Member
Veteran: Army

You need to get the cylinders honed as well. The shop that does it will tell you what size pistons are needed when they are done.

04fxd92 (02-11-2023)
Old 02-11-2023 | 11:14 AM
Dan89FLSTC
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Navy

Find a reputable Harley Davidson machinist, he will tell you the size pistons you need, once he has those pistons he will machine the cylinders to the proper clearance.