Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

15 RG- 254 cams? Dealer installed, mistake?

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2014 | 08:05 PM
cleanimages
|
Road Captain
Default 15 RG- 254 cams? Dealer installed, mistake?

I searched but couldn't find exact answer... I'm new to changing cams, and didn't plan on it today!!
Purchased a 2015 road glide. Ordered a set of push black rod covers and went today to see bike. tech said- you will love the new cams.
Long story short, push rod covers not installed mistake made and they installed 254 cams!!!

On a new HO 103, is this actually hurting the performance? Stock ho103 the hd website says 105 tq.

Working with dealer on price due to their mistake, but I didn't think of performance part till I researched tonight.

Will have air cleaner and better 2-1 exhaust. Should I be happy about this cam mistake? Will it be any different than if They left stock?

Thank you!

Old 11-18-2014 | 09:16 PM
cdonis
Outstanding HDF Member

you are probably losing a little tq off the bottom, but gaining thereafter. jmo i am no pro. I guess you have to really think about how you ride. Tour 2 up loaded, solo, and so on. Then you would have a better idea of what cam would suit you. How did you like it stock? Should have ran pretty good with just a nice full exhaust system, a/c and a REAL tune.

Old 11-18-2014 | 09:46 PM
cleanimages
|
Road Captain

That's one of the problems... Bike only had 3 miles!

It was brand new. Getting some black powder coating, exhaust and accessories put on, bars installed.

Tech said cams will be great- before I told him I only paid for cam cover!! He then said he installed 254...

I ride mostly solo. Regular around town rides and short day trips.