Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

99 Road king CLassic EFI Engine Mount

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 10:44 AM
oderonimus
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 99 Road king CLassic EFI Engine Mount

My engine was vibrating pretty hard forward to aft, so I replaced the front engine mount. Went to J&P and bought the replacement mount they said fit - To me it looks like the old -79B style. Fit like a champ, install was smooth, and the bike totally rode better, with no rattling.
After about 200 miles of riding, the engine started going fore and aft again. Took it to my local wrench, and he said that style mount was too soft, and we needed to upgrade to a urethane mount.
I'm by no means a mechanic, I don't even play one on TV. My gut tells me to check tightness on the mount, and if that's ok, to loosen everything back up, run the motor so it can "recenter" itself, then tighten everything up again.
Anyone have opinions on this?

Attached Thumbnails 99 Road king CLassic EFI  Engine Mount-image.jpg  
Old 10-19-2014, 11:01 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,867 Likes on 2,429 Posts

Opinions?! Yup - don't buy cheap aftermarket stuff! The stock front mount has been upgraded since your bike was built, it's currently #16207-79D, so the fourth version.

Old 10-20-2014, 09:44 AM
djl
HDF Community Team
Veteran: Army
Received 2,227 Likes on 1,611 Posts

Originally Posted by oderonimus