Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Seeping Everywhere, Rocker, pushrod, crankcase

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2009, 03:23 PM
magnethead
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seeping Everywhere, Rocker, pushrod, crankcase

Hi Guys,
I'm new to this fourm and the world of HD. I just picked up an Iron 2 months back and have 2500Km on it. I've notice small seeps (I wouldn't really call them leaks), they just change the color of the metal really. It difinately started with the Rocker boxes which I cleaned and the seep reappeared. The bottom of the push Rods is a recent event. I had mineral Oil in it originally and switched to the HD semi-senthitic aat 1600Km

I should point out that I broke the Engine in according to the rules at this site. Which basically say you get a better seal on your piston heads if you go hard on your engine for the breakin phase I just needed an excuse to ride hard. The pictures of the heads after he rebuilt his engines really did it for me

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

It All started here, Front rocker, Rear rocker is not as bad.

and then spread to the PUSHROD area here

and now that I look closely, THis tube going into the centre of the Crankcase has a small leak too (See where the Red plumber tape is wraped around the bung) ..Help this is only a brand new bike!!

Your Help would be greatly appriciated

Thanks
Nathan

Old 05-07-2009, 04:31 PM
mtclassic
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts

I would hit it with a torq wrench and just make sure the fasteners are properly torqued. Do not over torq tho. I would then clean it up really good and see if it still seeps. If it does I would take advantage of your warranty. I have 65,000 miles on mine and no seeping at all.

Old 05-07-2009, 08:17 PM
rbabos
Banned
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts