Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Need help for left turn signal/running lights problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2014, 01:55 PM
BGNIGHTTRAIN
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help for left turn signal/running lights problems

Ok, so I took my 06 Nighttrain to a shop because left blinkers weren't working at all and my front and rear running lights were out as well. They are aftermarket blinkers(not sure what kind) and I have LED bulbs in the rear. The shop fixed it quickly and they worked fine for a day. Now I'm having the same issue again. This is my first bike and I'm no mechanic, especially when it comes to electrical and have no clue what I'm looking for! I just don't wanna spend anymore money than needed if its something I can do myself with some experienced guidance.

I'm assuming its probably a short somewhere, but, haven't had anytime to look anywhere other than under the seat. Do I need to pull the tank and look at the wires and look under the rear fender for bare wires? Any input would be greatly appreciated!!!

Old 08-04-2014, 03:51 PM
angelrod
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Check your LEDs with a voltmeters. Or use a small battery to see if they will lit .if it don't reverse your LEDs if not working Lights is busted . Good luck.

Last edited by angelrod; 08-04-2014 at 03:55 PM.
Old 08-11-2014, 08:44 AM
BGNIGHTTRAIN
4th Gear

well it started working randomly and it'll quit randomly. As of now, they are working(the blinkers). I'm thinking there is a short somewhere or the TSM may be going bad....not sure though. I also bought a badlands brake/running light/ turn and load equalizer and every time I plug it in it blows the fuse. I'm thinking either something isn't wired right or it has to be grounding out somewhere in the rear.