Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Death by Throttle

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2020, 10:09 PM
MikeyBGr8
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Death by Throttle

Hello reader(s)...First post, so I hope I'm in the right place. I'm a Chief Warrant Officer in the Army, and I'm the Senor Motorcycle Mentor for the Squadron, so its kind of embarrassing not to have my bike running. I've had a ghost in my 08 Heritage Softail Classic for about 6 months. Just over 57000 miles. It's not throwing any codes. I'm at a loss and tired of throwing parts at it. But the good news is less work for those of you with a lot more experience under your belt than me. I'm a mechanic by hobby, so I have a strong understanding of the mechanical workings. It's the electrical issues I hate. I've restored cars from the frame up, but I understand my 15-year-old daughter better than what's going on with this bike!. So here goes my issue(s).
In the beginning (last fall), I rode from Killeen Tx to Round Rock. No issues, no warning signs, just a clean ride. On my way back, my speedometer dropped to 0 from about 55, the bike shut off, and I coasted to the shoulder. After about 30 minutes of checking the bike over, I was able to get the bike started (didn't make any mechanical or electrical changes, It just decided it was ready). If your thinking it might be overheating, you'd be almost right. I was able to drive about 1/2 before the bike died again. I had it towed to the Harley Dealership in Round Rock. They spent a week trying to reproduce the issue with no luck.