Electrical/Lighting/Alarm Having electrical problems? Discussion on everything electrical and lighting systems.

Mystery electrical part.

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2018 | 08:36 PM
COHarleyGuy
|
6th Gear
Default Mystery electrical part.

I am a total noob when it comes to Harley but I know when I have met my match with wiring, so I am reaching out for some assistance. I bought a '97 Softail that needed some love and care. I did notice that there weren't any turn signals either front or rear on the bike as well as the brake light not working either. I opened up the wiring and have found TONS of junk wiring that doesn't appear to go anywhere. I am adding turn signals and brake light back to the bike and ran across the following part that I believe is a turn signal cancel module but I am not sure as there aren't any sticker or part numbers listed on it. I am attaching pictures to see if someone can help me out. I am also needing to know the possible wiring schematics to connect it correctly as I am not too sure things are connected correctly. Any help would be much obliged.

Color wires out of the mystery box:
Red -
Purple -
Gray -
Black -
Green -
Yellow -
Brown -

Old 09-21-2018 | 10:55 PM
mmesa005
Ultimate HDF Member
Veteran: Army

Here is the wiring and electrical troubleshooting manual that covers your bike.

https://serviceinfo.harley-davidson....%3D1997+wiring

The following users liked this post:
COHarleyGuy (09-26-2018)
Old 09-21-2018 | 11:09 PM
mmesa005
Ultimate HDF Member

Is the black box still wired and if so are the colors of the wires it is connected to the same or different? Spliced connections or through an actual connector?

Old 09-21-2018 | 11:12 PM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member

Looks like a load equalizer of some kind for custom lights, I'd trace the wires to see where they go.

Campy Roadie (09-22-2018)
Old 09-21-2018 | 11:19 PM
COHarleyGuy
|
6th Gear

Originally Posted by mmesa005