Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dyna Horn Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2013, 09:45 AM
rockon
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Question Dyna Horn Replacement

Gotta add a horn back to my bike and I'm considering this one: http://www.jpcycles.com/product/3600...FRRk7AodRRIAZA

I removed the stock cowbell and horn a few years ago...eyesores I didn't need covering my motor. I tucked the wires away underneath the battery and fuse boxes, which is convenient since I just moved to TX and have to put a horn back on (I thought TX was land of the free?) and figure I'll just get a tiny horn to mount under the battery box.

But I'm no electrician...having clipped the old wires, will I need to solder or anything to get them hooked back up to that little pancake?

Old 10-09-2013, 10:42 AM
Cloyder
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm not sure how that particular horn hooks up, but I believe the stock horns just use regular old female terminal connectors to hook onto the studs on the horn. They usually crimp on. If you need to extend the wires I would just use crimp type butt connectors. I'm not very good at soldering so I tend to use crimp type connectors for everything.

You should be able to get everything you need at your local electrical supply house for less than $3. More if you need a pair of wire strippers/crimpers

EDIT
You might need 90 degree connectors.

Last edited by Cloyder; 10-09-2013 at 11:08 AM.
Old 10-09-2013, 11:58 AM
Dynam1te
Road Warrior
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Without being able to see how that universal horn is designed to connect, I'd just order it if i were you. There are a lot of options to get wires connected, all very easy to do at home.

Old 10-09-2013, 12:20 PM
Jimmy2Ball
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts