Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why is the oil overfilled after a dealer service?

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2011, 08:45 AM
MikeSz
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why is the oil overfilled after a dealer service?

Okay, I know I can do my own oil changes, but hell, I am no real mechanic and don't fancy doing all the things called for in the 5k service. So, I take it to a dealer. Damn crankcase is always overfilled. They try to explain that "it's hot" or "its cold", but no matter when I check it, it reads overfilled up to the last "L" in the word "Full" embossed on the stick. I figure it is about 10 ozs. over. Why do they do that?

I got myself a suction gun today. 12 bucks. Tired of arguing with dealers.

Old 07-22-2011, 08:48 AM
Morris9982
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

My guess would be that they empty a set number of quarts of oil instead of using a partial quart.

My bike uses about 3½ quarts and I always add the last ½ a little at a time until it is just under the full mark.

Old 07-22-2011, 09:08 AM
sgod1100
Road Captain

Originally Posted by MikeSz
Okay, I know I can do my own oil changes, but hell, I am no real mechanic and don't fancy doing all the things called for in the 5k service. So, I take it to a dealer. Damn crankcase is always overfilled. They try to explain that "it's hot" or "its cold", but no matter when I check it, it reads overfilled up to the last "L" in the word "Full" embossed on the stick. I figure it is about 10 ozs. over. Why do they do that?

I'll tell you why, it's because 90% of the techs at harley dealerships (Not all of them) have no idea what the hell they are doing! I never bring my bike to the dealership, I fix it myself

Old 07-22-2011, 09:15 AM
MikeSz
Cruiser