Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tip Over Scare

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2010, 07:26 PM
bostock1957
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tip Over Scare

Hey Anyone,

Has anyone ever tipped over at a standstill and now has developed a paranoia against it happening again? I know it's better to get back on the horse which threw ya but it's not always easy. Just wondering?

Old 12-20-2010, 07:49 PM
dondee
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by bostock1957
Hey Anyone,

Has anyone ever tipped over at a standstill and now has developed a paranoia against it happening again? I know it's better to get back on the horse which threw ya but it's not always easy. Just wondering?
Yep, I'll be the first to fess up.

And I've been riding for ~50 years, which could be part of the problem. Although I let it happen on an Electra Glide 20 or so years ago, the most recent time was ~8 years ago on a very top heavy Honda CB1100f, so I'm writing it off to that.

I maybe wouldn't say I have a paranoia but I do think about it occasionally, especially when my wife is riding along. It's just part of the risk. You might want to look at it as a "what's the worst possible case" kind of thing and press on. On the scale of things that can happen it's far from the worst.

But getting back to your question, yeah, it's happened to us all.

Old 12-20-2010, 07:54 PM
1plumr1
Road Warrior
Received 413 Likes on 220 Posts

I tip over at a stand still at least once a year 'cause I'm a 'tard. Mostly inattentiveness, and the occasional center stand on uneven surface issue. Embarrassing, yeah, but no damage due to engine and bag guards.

Old 12-20-2010, 09:20 PM
Romeo
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts