Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

installing baffles

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2010, 08:21 PM
glidingwide
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default installing baffles

I am fairly new to the Harley brotherhood.....been on bikes most of my life though.....I purchased an '01 Wide Glide back in June and it came with V&H Straightshots (staggered) without baffles. I had about enough of the the popping and backfiring after I let off the throttle and the unclean sound between gears. I ordered some baffles yesterday through a local cycle shop. My question is how hard is it to do a self install of the baffles? I am hoping that he ordered the quiet baffles for me...if not, I will worry about that later....I thank you in advance for your advice and/or help. By the way, I will NEVER go back to a non-Harley bike! I am hooked!

Wayne

Oklahoma, USA

Old 11-11-2010, 08:50 PM
nevil
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,017 Likes on 764 Posts

Welcome to the forum! (One thing you gotta do is post a pic or 2 of your bike.) There's all kinds of baffles he could have ordered, but if you're getting the V&H either kind will be loud. The quiet baffles are just a few decibels less than the stock ones, and either one should help your decel pop. Good aftermarket baffles are made by Rush and Big City Thunder, among others.

Old 11-11-2010, 09:20 PM
Kthulu
Intermediate

Install isn't too bad. Check your heat shields first; the older V&H heat shields have a cut out for accessing the bolt that holds the baffle in. If yours doesn't then the heat shields will have be removed or loosened enough to get at the bolt hole.