Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Leak!!! OMG!!! Not on a Harley!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2010 | 07:49 PM
Swede405
|
Tourer
Default Leak!!! OMG!!! Not on a Harley!!!

OK, I've got a leak (photo attached) which appears to be between the primary case and where the shift linkage is attached. I'm not a pro by any means but love to do things myself if possible. Is something like this from overfill, gasket failure or something bigger?

It's a slow leak and not a huge problem, but I'd like to take care of it nonetheless and without tearing everything apart if possible.

Attached Thumbnails Leak!!! OMG!!!  Not on a Harley!!!-leak.jpg  
Old 10-29-2010 | 08:02 PM
2in2outhd
Cruiser
Default Me too!!!

I have just discovered a possible leak in the same area....let me know what u find out....i would like to fix it my self also....good luck!!!!!

Old 10-29-2010 | 08:14 PM
Streetbob Bomber
Cruiser

it is possible that it is the gasket that seals the shift shaft, only have to remove the shift peg and the outer primary case to get to the gasket.

Old 10-29-2010 | 09:20 PM
redrubicon2004
Road Warrior

Looks like a shifter shaft seal. Its not hard to replace once you get the complete primary off the bike. Grab a service manual for your bike and read up on it. Once you read the manual, it will be very clear weather or not its something you feel you should tackle.

Old 10-29-2010 | 09:23 PM
soft 02
Seasoned HDF Member

+1 shifter seal! very easy to do. did mine on wednesday.

Old 10-29-2010 | 09:35 PM
kk6pg
Outstanding HDF Member