Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FXDF - Need advice on drilling baffles

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 03:48 PM
Lou E
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question FXDF - Need advice on drilling baffles

I searched and read every post I could find about drilling baffles but still have a few questions and wanted to make sure I'm doing this right, or at least as right can be when doing this.

I bought a used exhaust, just in case I screw up which is likely, and set about drilling the rivets and pulling the baffles out. I've never done this before so I wasn't sure what to expect.

One came out nice and easy but the other required a little persuasion with the broom stick, this is what I wound up with.

The fiberglass packing was stuck to the slip on part, so I had to twist it around with a pair of pliers and came out pretty easy, this is that worked out.

Now for the questions, according to what I have read, I'm under the assumption that I need to drill a 3/8" hole on this part, is that correct?

What about the fiberglass, do I put it back? And what about the inside of the slip ons, do I clean that up or will it just get blown out?

I'm also thinking about wrapping the pipes, I've read all about the drawbacks of doing this and understand that it sometimes causes the pipes to crack but I'll still have the stock ones as spare, which brand do you guys recommend?

Last question, from what I've read here, even with wrapping the pipes and drilling the baffle, it won't be necessary for me to get the bike tuned or anything like that, right?

Thank you in advance for any help, this is my first motorcycle and I only know what I read here, your advice is truly appreciated.

Lou

Old 08-25-2010, 04:37 PM
rmfischer
Cruiser