Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loud Knock coming from my 99' FXDX. Help?!

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2010, 04:05 PM
kromer4life
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Loud Knock coming from my 99' FXDX. Help?!

Hey guys, haven't posted in a while, but here goes.

So I have a 1999 FXDX, I replaced the time bomb cam bearing about 10 months ago. I had a broken front motor mount and had a knocking problem, I thought I could solve the knocking problem by replacing the motor mount.. no dice, I'm pretty sure it knocks harder now, like my damn engine's gonna fall out.

I'm still learning how to make repairs on my own, and I don't have the cash to take it to a shop.. So my question to you gents is this: Does anyone know what would cause this horrible knock? Any and all advice is deeply appreciated. What parts to buy? Where to check for the problem, etc?

Thanks guys

Old 07-29-2010, 04:14 PM
Grendel4
Banned
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by kromer4life
Hey guys, haven't posted in a while, but here goes.

So I have a 1999 FXDX, I replaced the time bomb cam bearing about 10 months ago. I had a broken front motor mount and had a knocking problem, I thought I could solve the knocking problem by replacing the motor mount.. no dice, I'm pretty sure it knocks harder now, like my damn engine's gonna fall out.

I'm still learning how to make repairs on my own, and I don't have the cash to take it to a shop.. So my question to you gents is this: Does anyone know what would cause this horrible knock? Any and all advice is deeply appreciated. What parts to buy? Where to check for the problem, etc?

Thanks guys
Not being a smartazz, but trying to figure out a knock over the internet is kinda like phone sex.