Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EFI Download or Fuel Computer needed?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2010, 10:05 AM
go4boy
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EFI Download or Fuel Computer needed?

Ok I'm a noob to Cycling with a better credit score than sense, but I love riding. When I got my 2010 Street Bob, I had a B&H Big Radius 2n2 put on and the Stealership said I had to put on the SE Ventilator AC. They also said since it was a Dyna it did not need a new Fuel Computer but just a download.

I hated the look of that oversized spam can. So, I changed it out for the SE Stage 1 and did a sick moded cover like Shockwave. The bike was skipping and bucking like a old beater before the AC switch and is now a touch worse. So now the two questions.

1. Is there a way to tell if they even did the download to start with?
2. Would switching from the SE Ventilator to the SE Stage 1 require a new download or even a new fuel computer?

Thanks in advance and this site is a double edge sword for sure. Great place for help and ideas, but I have seen about 20K stuff I would love to do to my bike now.

Go4Boy
2010 Street Bob Denim Black, slowly blacking out and going retro

Old 07-21-2010, 11:26 AM
Herr Monk
Elite HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If they're giving you a stage 1 download, that's technically designed for the stage 1 SE air filter, and SE slip-ons, and generally works "okay" on most things in that ball-park. It's still designed to be EPA friendly, and street legal in all states, so it's still a very lean tune, like stock. If any of the components you're using (and I think they are) allow more air-flow than than the SE street legal stage 1 stuff, you're going to be even leaner.