Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Absolute, total NEW GUY, at your mercy....questions....

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2010 | 09:12 PM
HarleyGTP
|
Road Master
Default Absolute, total NEW GUY, at your mercy....questions....

Well, I am a total newb when it comes to riding guys, so please bear with me!

I have a 2003 HD dyna...I know it's an anniversary edition but other than that I have NO idea what I have here! Would the VIN help me out with that? Are their tell-tale signs to look for to differentiate?

Also, I would really love to have a set of saddle-bags. Where do I even start!? I went to the H-D website and it just seems so complicated!!! Not to mention expensive!

I'm a shade-tree mechanic, but I don't have any type of maintenance history on this bike, and I have no experience with bike mechanics. I was thinking about taking it to the stealership for the first round and then going DIY from there on out.

Thanks in advance for the help guys! I know newbs are troublesome and some-what annoying....I hate being in these shoes! LOL

Old 04-30-2010 | 09:30 PM
redrubicon2004
Road Warrior

First, what model dyna do you have? Also wondering what paint you have?

Old 04-30-2010 | 09:31 PM
JaronB
Ultimate HDF Member

Congrats and welcome. The only thing you should go to the dealership for is the Factory Service Manual. You can do anything with that book. Go through the maintenance list, definitely change all the oils. Go through the list of critical fasteners and check every other nut and bolt. Plus this forum will help you do anything.

Old 04-30-2010 | 09:32 PM
Doug Bromley
Cruiser

Welcome from Chandler,az I am a newbie too I just bought a 10 wide glide.

Old 04-30-2010 | 10:04 PM
tom mason
Cruiser