Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2009 FXDF Windshield 15"

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 06:03 PM
zeta596
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 FXDF Windshield 15"

I am still a newbie as I only have 3k miles ridden/ mostly on XLH883. Question, re: windshield. I will attach a pic but my new Fat Bob has a 15" smoked windshield & I am getting horrible wind noise in my helmet. I wear a full-face modular type Harley helmet & haven't tried riding w/o the shield yet.

Anyone else have any similar experince w the shield? It's fine when I crouch below (like sport bike) but at comfortable cruising >40mph, I get all kind of deafening wind in my helmet.

I appreciate any feedback here as this is my 1st big twin & never had a shield. I got it thinking it would help on rides of over an hour. Maybe I will just ride w/o it...who knows?!

Attached Thumbnails 2009 FXDF Windshield 15"-brad-s-new-harley-002.jpg   2009 FXDF Windshield 15"-brad-s-new-harley-005.jpg  
Old 03-20-2010, 06:16 PM
bberck
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

I have tried 3 different shields on mine to use on long trips and have preferred my full face with no shield over any of them.

Lots of threads on the buffeting caused from shields and what works for one may not another since there are so many factors. Takes alot of adjusting and the addition of other things for most to get it down to a tolerable level.

I think the 2 main things that help is the right height and some lowers. Its always the wind coming from below that gets me on mine. Never tried mounting any lowers on mine though.

Old 03-20-2010, 06:52 PM
AFONE
Road Captain
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts