Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Rider Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2009, 04:18 PM
Roark
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Rider Questions

Gents,

Looking to buy my first bike and have always wanted an H-D. I'm 35 and and want to know if I'm out of my mind to look at Fat Bobs? People have said to buy something smaller to start out with, but honestly it's my mindset that if I'm worried about crashing one I shouldn't buy one in the first place. That just seems like setting myself up to fail. Others have said to start out with a Sportster which I'm fine with but would still prefer the Bob. What you say? First timer on a Fat Bob or something else?

Background: Class A Driver used to driving long distances in large vehicles, hence I'm a very careful driver. Just want something to cruise around the neighborhood on the weekends in the summer. Live in beautiful Minnesota.

Go ahead and be harsh. I want to know if I need to look at something else first.

Old 12-31-2009, 04:21 PM
8541hog
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts

I would suggest you rent one first, in fact rent a couple different ones, just so you can get a true feel for them, and your comfort level.
Personally I don't subscribe to buy small either, buy what you truly want, don't settle.

Old 12-31-2009, 04:23 PM
harleyflyboy
Road Warrior
Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts

+1 on the rent thing. Try out several, the one for you will be apparent after you try a few. It would really be unfortunate to buy something then figure out it's not for you. Don't worry about the size, just get what you like and feel good on.

Old 12-31-2009, 04:32 PM
Wrongturn
Cruiser