Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noise and oils

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2006, 10:26 AM
Bruinx9
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noise and oils

So i heard something very interesting from a buddy of mine that builds choppers. Do Not use fully synthetic oils in your HD engine due to the roller bearings inside the engine. The Syn oils are too slippery and will not allow you roller bearings to "roll" thereby causing them to flat spot. This guy's not stupid he is a turbine mech by trade and a custom bike builder by hobby. This maks a lot of sense. needless to say in 500miles my SG with get the semi syn. Also on my 06 SG I have a little bit of a clicking or rattling sound at higher rpms when i'm cranking through the gears. I'm not sure if it's normal or not. I realize HD TC88's make an *** load of noise but it sounds like a Valve "knock" to me. Anyone else have this issue?? Or know what it is and how to rid myself from it other than SYN oils. Oh yeah running stock exhaust still i haven't decided on a direction yet. Any help is appreciated.

Old 07-03-2006, 11:47 AM
Rocket350
Cruiser
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Noise and oils