Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this the inner primary noise???

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 07:27 AM
drfalken
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this the inner primary noise???

I don't hear it when I first start the bike but after I get back from a ride, pop it into neutral and let out the clutch I hear a whirrrrring noise from the left side of the bike. Could be I just cant hear it on the right because of the exhaust. Anyway I was thinking inner primary bearing. Or is this normal?
Thanks in advance!

Old 05-25-2009, 08:09 AM
Topspin
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm not a mechanic and can't be sure that it definately IS your IPB. But that's what my bad one sounded like. Problem is... it STILL sounds like that AFTER the replacement. Oh, the bearing that was removed was definately fried.

Sorry if I confused you. I'm confused too!

Last edited by Topspin; 05-25-2009 at 08:12 AM.
Old 05-25-2009, 08:45 AM
drfalken
Cruiser

Maybe the bad IPB is causing damage somewhere else??? How much is this going to run me? Should I get a bearing puller and do it myself?

Old 05-25-2009, 12:36 PM
MidnitEvil
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 60 Likes on 51 Posts

A whine from your primary could also be due to the primary chain being too tight.

Old 05-25-2009, 03:26 PM
PKellyMc
Outstanding HDF Member
Location: PacNW; Beacon of Conservatism in a Sea of Liberals.......AZ Snowbird; Just another Conservative
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts