Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buy FXDL or build one from a FXD

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2008, 05:52 AM
DGDyna
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Buy FXDL or build one from a FXD

The Low Rider has everything I want but can I buy a Super Glide and get better accessories (2-up seat, passenger pegs, highway pegs and a tach) for the extra $3k? I was a certified motorcycle mechanic in the 70’s so I’m inclined to want to build it myself. Also, I’m in Iraq so I don’t have access to either bike or stealers.

Old 09-16-2008, 06:41 AM
dyna07custom
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Low rider has black motor different tank and console I think to do it your self will wind up quite a bit mor expensive depending on how far you go

Old 09-16-2008, 07:13 AM
dewalt-2
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

That's what I'm doing. Bought a bare bones Super Glide and going from there. It's mine, and won't be like any other. Don't really care about the cost to do it.

So far with a lot more to come...

Old 09-16-2008, 07:31 AM
rounder
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

BUy the lowrider...don't build one from the FXD!!!!
An FXDC is better choice if you want to save a couple grand over the lowrider...It has chrome and a fatbob tank(also set up for 2up)...either the FXD or FXDC has a silver engine so if you have the money for black engine get it cause you'll be kicking yourself for allowing the price to overweigh what you really want!!!

Old 09-16-2008, 08:04 AM
dewalt-2
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I guess I'm on the other side of the consensus, but I loved the silver engine the minute I saw it on the Pewter Pearl bike. With a few chrome tidbits it'll produce a nice combination that's very different than the black and chrome standard.
JMHO