Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SE Street Performance Mufflers - Mini Review

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 03:25 PM
badbs101
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SE Street Performance Mufflers - Mini Review

I put on my SE Street Performance Slash Out Mufflers yesterday. It took me about 1.5 hrs total and was pretty easy overall. I'm a good but slow mechanic btw so the job can probably de done much quicker. The hardest part was removing the old slip-ons (wiggle/pull, wiggle/pull) which took a seemingly long time and then lining up the new ones because when I torqued on the clamp bolt the muffler had a tendancy to twist.

When I first started up the bike, I was pretty unimpressed with the sound. I wanted mufflers that were a little louder than stock and these were a little louder. I am happy to say that after a few rides they have begun to burn in and are louder and deeper than stock but not very much.You can even smell the packing material burning when you're sitting at a light.I expect them to burn in even more in the future. Loud enough for me although I do wish they were even a tad louder but no worries because I leave for work at 7:00 am and don't care to annoy the neighbors. My wife videotaped me riding away before and after the SE slip-ons were installed and they definitely have more of a louder rap to them when accelerating. Nicer sounding overall and deeper but only marginally.

The good news is that my butt dyno tells me I have picked up a few ft/lbs of torque in the lower-mid range just like the HD graph points out. It's subtle but noticeable.

Tentative thumbs up on these to anyone who wants a nicer sound without upsetting the neighbors. The improvements these mufflers make to sound and power aresubtle but definitely there.