Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rookie chrome mistake

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2008, 08:58 PM
pemdas
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rookie chrome mistake

I'm new to Harleys and I made a stupid rookie mistake.Now I'm looking for some chrome-cleaning advice.

I took the SG out for a long ride on Tuesday and the roads were still damp. There must have been some residual salt or ice-melting chemicals still on the road (I'm in NY), and now the leading edges of my triple tree won't come clean.Feels rough to the touch and has spots and stains that won't wash off.

I made two big mistakes: taking the bike out without waiting for some rain to clean the roads, and I didn't know enough about chrome to know that it needed to be cleaned immediately (it sat for 2 days).

Any advice appreciated -- thanks ...

Old 01-10-2008, 09:09 PM
glide05
Road Warrior
Default RE: Rookie chrome mistake

i don't think your trees are chrome - polished aluminum.

Old 01-10-2008, 09:11 PM
ss377
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I did the same about the same thing. But the triple tree on SB is polished aluminum. I rubbed onthe bottom bracket (the windshield protected the upper one)for about an hour with aluminum cleaner/polish. Got about 95% off. My paint and chrome apparently had enough wax on to protect them. What got on them washed right off. Don't know what to tell you about pitted chrome.

Old 01-10-2008, 09:13 PM
joeld0803
Cruiser