Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heat Cycling Big Bore Install

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2024, 05:10 PM
snake_eyes
Club Member
Received 1,231 Likes on 722 Posts
Default Heat Cycling Big Bore Install

I'm a few months off from starting this work but I'm boning up on my knowledge while it's raining today.

I'll be installing a FM 110" kit with BX heads on my cammed 103" this winter. I am a lifelong shade tree mechanic but mostly of the auto variety, I'm perfectly comfortable and capable of doing this work on my bike but I want to try to know what I don't know, you know?

I've been looking at this heat cycling recommendation from Zippers IMPORTANT (zippersperformance.com) as a starting point but thought I'd get some input for the Dyna forum. My main questions are:
  • Oil recommendation for startup and break in
  • Heat cycling phases/times/RPM/etc.
  • Heat cycle by time or temp?
  • Break in, 500/1000mi, 0mi? I've read it all it seems like
My bike is currently a cammed 2017 103" with ~6k miles on the clock. During the big bore install, the current cams will be replaced with Woods 777's. Bike already has a Feuling pump and will be getting a matching plate as well. S&S/FM adjustable pushrods, Woods lifters, ported/polished heads, bigger valves at10.5:1. I'm running a Thunderheader.

Old 07-31-2024, 05:14 PM
snake_eyes
Club Member
Old 07-31-2024, 05:28 PM
snake_eyes
Club Member
Old 07-31-2024, 06:35 PM
Tommy C
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 23,609 Likes on 7,758 Posts

I've always used the S&S method to break in a engine and a fresh set of piston rings. Seems to work for me so far.

Last edited by Tommy C; 07-31-2024 at 07:16 PM. Reason: Spelling
The following 2 users liked this post by Tommy C:
pgreer (08-06-2024), snake_eyes (08-05-2024)
Old 07-31-2024, 06:43 PM
Trumpet