Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 Low Rider will not start before and after Carb rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2018, 07:06 PM
Syler297
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 Low Rider will not start before and after Carb rebuild

I know the title seems vague, but given limited space it's the basis of the issue.

A little back-story, so I'm new to riding. Bought my 98 Low Rider off my Dad who was unable to ride it anymore. After it having sat in his garage for two years, with out even being started, I managed to pry his fingers off the keys by telling him that at least it will stay in the family and get some use somewhere. I'm really excited to get out there and learn. Already have the Harley learners class scheduled, but in the mean time, I have been doing maintenance. I drained and replaced all the fluids, replaced the battery that was shot, new spark plugs, and, at the advise of a few people I knew from the Marine Corps, bought Seafoam and dumped the can in the tank. Everything was great, bike started immediately. So there I was, feeling pretty proud of myself. Next day, friend tells me to get a can of the Seafoam Carb cleaner, because it was probably pretty nasty. Read the instructions, did as it said, everything was still going well. Decided I would tune the Carb and take the bike out for a short ride. My street is not real busy, so I figured it's be a great place to learn clutching and shifting before I take it out on the road and stall at a red light.