Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Camshafts 101

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2017, 08:46 AM
moose545
Road Captain
Received 46 Likes on 44 Posts
Default Camshafts 101

Can anyone give me a clear explanation and guide to upgrading cams? I see various listings for sale and see where it lists specs, but I'm not sure how they differ and their effects vs. stock configuration. For example, I'm running stage 1 - 103cu. in with exhaust, how would I know what else would need to be done to run right with Woods 555 cams? Learn me here please!

Old 12-11-2017, 11:18 AM
Nickd2689
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 257 Likes on 199 Posts

Ok this is gonna take a lot of reading on your part. I'm not very good at this so I'm gonna try my best. choose cams based on your particular riding style, aggressive, solo, highway, what rpm range you ride in the most, etc. keep in mind where you want your highest hp/tq. For me, the se259e on my 117 comes on around 3k-3500. You should also consider any future mods like big bore kits, headwork, compression ratio etc.

read as many reviews and threads as you can of people with similar mods. There's some helpful videos on YouTube as well. There should also be a few threads on here about can choice selection. It's not as complicated as it sounds, but the more you educate yourself, the better equipped you'll be to make a decision. It's also a good idea to look at dyno charts and compare them to your current setup.

Dont nt go too crazy with lift either unless you're doing headwork with it. Hopefully some of the more knowledgeable regulars will chime in on this one. Hope this helps

Old 12-11-2017, 11:37 AM
FLASH1970
Stellar HDF Member
Received 3,168 Likes on 1,162 Posts