Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bike Stalled Out on hill, burning smell, oil light, flashing lights

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2017 | 01:09 PM
dr_pardee
|
Stage II
Default Bike Stalled Out on hill, burning smell, oil light, flashing lights

I'm a complete newbie to this forum and despite 10 years of riding, I am not very mechanically inclined.

I have a new Lower Rider S, only 800 miles. I was on steep ramp getting out of my parking garage and the gate wouldn't go up. I waited for about a minute and the gate finally began to raise. As I was about to exit, the bike stalled, I smelt a burning smell, the oil light popped on and my handlebar turn signals flashed. I leveled the bike sideways on the ramp, turned it off and on, but the bike wouldn't start. Late for work, I brought it back to my parking spot, lights flashing. I tried locking, unlocking steering column, and fiddling with different things to get the lights to stop flashing but they remained flashing. I had to take off.

Later I called HD of Glendale in LA. The person suggested my fob battery was dead or that I may have damaged the clutch, neither which made much sense. I called my father, he suggested since I was on the hill, the oil may have gotten into the cylinders. I'm gonna check on the bike after work. I Googled around but I didn't find anything online so I decided to join this forum and post. If you can suggest what may have happened or what I should do moving forward, I would be most appreciative. Thanks for reading this.

Eric

Old 06-29-2017 | 01:22 PM
TSheff
Seasoned HDF Member

Did it stall because you didn't have enough throttle or just died?
After it stalled and ignition is still on Oil Pressure light would be on because, not running no oil pressure.