Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best paint

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2017, 05:26 PM
fxdx1985
Road Master
Received 156 Likes on 100 Posts
Default Best paint

I'm looking to do some paint work. Is Harley "Vivid Black" the best quality or are all blacks the same? Any better gloss or primers? Thanks!

Old 01-12-2017, 08:15 AM
SquishyLowRider
Road Master
Received 76 Likes on 68 Posts

Originally Posted by fxdx1985
I'm looking to do some paint work. Is Harley "Vivid Black" the best quality or are all blacks the same? Any better gloss or primers? Thanks!
As a novice painter, I can tell you that HD paint is some of the best you will encounter on a production based vehicle.

All HD paint is made by a outside source. I forget who supplies HD with paint, but it may be PPG. It is a metalic black. All blacks are not the same.

There are other sources for VIVID Black 'like' paint. How well it matches is up to you. I've heard good and bad depending on the source.

Old 01-12-2017, 09:35 AM
wideglideCVO
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 1,382 Likes on 808 Posts

I used black lacquer and clear coated with clear lacquer on my quarter faring. Very Vivid black.

Old 01-12-2017, 10:51 AM
rydercheers
Tourer
Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by SquishyLowRider
As a novice painter, I can tell you that HD paint is some of the best you will encounter on a production based vehicle.

All HD paint is made by a outside source. I forget who supplies HD with paint, but it may be PPG. It is a metalic black. All blacks are not the same.

There are other sources for VIVID Black 'like' paint. How well it matches is up to you. I've heard good and bad depending on the source.