Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Speed wobble above 85 mph(140km/h)

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2016, 04:06 PM
vinzilla
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speed wobble above 85 mph(140km/h)

Hi, I've been chasing a speed wobble for 4 yrs. Every time I go above 85 mph (140km/h) and hit a bump or tar line I get a wobble and have to slow down. Here's what I've done so far:

2011 FXDB 7500 miles, bought with 2500 miles

1. fall away check
2. checked tire pressure
3. replaced tires/balanced wheels
4. checked rear wheel alignment
5. checked rear shock setup
6. checked spokes
7. brought bike to dealer, explained the issue and they couldn't find anything wrong.

What's next? Steering damper? Chassis stabilizer?

Old 06-01-2016, 04:21 PM
F86
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 900 Likes on 600 Posts

Mine was never as bad as what you've described, but there was a trace of it... This seems to have fixed it: https://www.hdforums.com/forum/dyna-...tor-mount.html

Old 06-01-2016, 04:45 PM
TinCupChalice
Extreme HDF Member
Received 8,751 Likes on 3,962 Posts

I'd start looking at rider input, vehicle/engine alignment, and your front fork suspension. Ride heavy on the bars at those speeds and you'll set up all sorts of fun oscillations as the bike tries to stabilize itself and you fight it. And the stock front fork setup is pathetic; have you done any work on the front or are you still running those short soft springs and too light of viscosity fork oil? And vehicle/engine alignment; a Dyna will live an die by that alignment.

I can run some not to be openly mentioned speeds, the bike is stable but I've made certain the alignment is correct, the forks are upgraded, and most importantly, the rider knows not to give the bike too much input through the bars...

Old 06-01-2016, 05:25 PM