Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! Rear Wheel Removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 11:03 PM
Jughugger
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help! Rear Wheel Removal

I'm in the middle of removing the rear wheel on my 06 WG, to replace the tire with a 180. This is my first time at trying this on my own. I've followed the service manual to the T, but now I'm at the point of removing the axle, and the service manual does not mention how to get the axle out. The left nut, washer, and keeper are off. The rear brake is still on the rotor, but I'm assuming that once the axle is out, the wheel and rotor will just rotate out of the caliper.

My main question is, how do I get the axle out? Do I just pound it from the left side with a rubber mallet of some sort? Should the wheel be off the ground when doing this, or should it rest on the ground for support? Do I need to loosen the right side axle nut that is located near the exhaust? My suspension is unbolted on the bottom on both sides, so the swing arm is basically just hanging there with the wheel and drive belt. Thanks for any info. I'm sure once I've done it, it won't be a problem on future rear tire changes.

Jim

Old 05-09-2007, 11:41 PM
jt1965
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Help! Rear Wheel Removal

If your rear axle is like mine was and I suspect it is then it is probabaly rusted in since the MOCO (and I hope they are watching) Did not put a nickels worth of anti-seize on the axle. It two guys actually 3 1 to hold the bike, 1 holding the piece of wood and mine belt and 1 more swinging a big sledge hammer.