Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear brake on Wide Glide and other things

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2015, 12:49 PM
Steve Jones Harley
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rear brake on Wide Glide and other things

Just had my first ride on a Harley. My own new 2012 Wide Glide. So as a newbie please forgive what might seem like stupid questions. First, the rear brake doesn't hold the bike on a hill, am I not pressing it hard enough or is it not man enough for the job. Second, it feels jerky/lumpy at slow speeds at times (maybe poor throttle control as I'm new to it ?) Third, it gives me back ache ! Hoping to get used to the riding position, forward controls don't seem to be an issue for me, but suggestions to help (backrest, different seat, risers ?) would be appreciated. First ride ever today was for an hour, quiet country roads, town riding with traffic, roundabouts, lights etc. all good but will obviously get better over time. Biggest bike I've ridden before this was a Yamaha 600cc and then only to practice and to pass my UK bike test. Thanks in advance.

Old 10-26-2015, 02:13 PM
AFDynaRider
Tourer
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

I have the same bike. My rear brake will hold the bike just fine on hills. My guess is you just need to press harder. As far as the back pain goes what helped me was getting 10 inch apes that put my hands right at shoulder height and pushing them forward until I was sitting straight up. I also found the throttle to be a little touchy at slow speeds. You just need to get used to it. It will definitely take some experimentation to get it where you want it.

Old 10-26-2015, 02:16 PM
cggorman
Extreme HDF Member
Received 2,291 Likes on 1,710 Posts