Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

04 FXDI stumbling on the road.

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2015, 05:30 PM
Sithis
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 FXDI stumbling on the road.

So I am new to fixing bikes but I also refuse to go to a shop when there is someone somewhere that can teach me what to do or what to look for.

I have an 04 FXDI the problem is intermittent and usually happens on the road at any given speed in any gear. I will be going down the road and if I try to accelerate my throttle will cut out for about 2 seconds then kick in and act like nothing has happened. Sometimes like th other day I was on a run with a buddy when it started happening. I got off the freeway and came to a light. The RPMs were way high and it stayed like that for about a minute. I went to another friends house and took off my air cleaner & cleaned it out. after that it seemed to run fine for a couple of days. last weekend I took it for a run for about 5 hours 2 hours in one direction. when we got there the bike sputtered and died. It started right back up and when we rode for another 3 hours back it did the stumble thing twice.
I always put premium gas in my bike and tried running about 4 ounces of sea foam to a tank twice. I noticed yesterday while messin with our bikes doing oil changes and general maintenance I couldn't find where the top vacuum line goes to. I see the outlet on the carb. But it only had a small piece of rotten hose on it about the size of a washer in thickness. I have a suspicion that this is causing my issue but I can't see where it is supposed to go to.