Custom Models All custom bikes.

Advice on a custom

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2005, 07:44 PM
Tx883c
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on a custom

My father-in-law is wanting to build a custom chopper. I will be helping extensively with the fabrication. However, neither one of us has ever built a bike before and need all the advice we can get what are some tips that would be helpful to a true novice.

Old 11-29-2005, 02:24 PM
ThudMeister
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Advice on a custom

Ok, you have opened a large can of fun here. A few questions you must answer for yourself first.
I am a Computer Scientist. I did have shop classes in high school and I did rebuild a Mini Cooper
before I attempted to build a bike from the frame up. I am having fun building and riding mine.

There are a few books out there on building kit bikes and customs. Get one or two and read them.
Make sure they include wiring.

If you are going to buy a kit...

1. What kind? Chopper, pro-street, bobber, softail, hard tail, ......

2. Compare your style with several builders kits.

3. Ask for references, who has bought the kit and contact them for opinions.

If you are going to build one from scratch...

1. What kind of custom? Chopper, pro-street, bobber, softail, hard tail, ......

2. What kind of engine? Sporty, Knuckle, Pan, Evo, TC-88A, TC-88B, Revolution, .....

4. What size tires?

5. What front end? Springer, narrow glide, wide glide, ....

6. Now you can pic a frame to match and start aquiring parts

7. Learn to weld or find a good welder to help you.

8. Look for things on ebay, you can save a bundle if you can find what you want there. You might even find a roller on ebay that matches your style.

Old 11-30-2005, 12:33 PM
MegaHDman
Banned
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts