Custom Models All custom bikes.

What makes a custom bike a harley?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2024, 11:53 AM
FarmerTeds
Advanced
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default What makes a custom bike a harley?

I know many harleys were identified by the frame and engine. A lot of people talk about using a custom rigid frame for a harley chopper. What would make it a harley at that point? Finding an original harley motor? If it would be registered as a custom bike, it wouldn't really be a harley, would it?

Newbie here, just in the beginnings of planning a chopper build.

Old 02-26-2024, 12:00 PM
smitty901
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Army
Received 10,358 Likes on 5,498 Posts

If it has an HD VIN and title it is an HD. If it does not it not an HD no madder what engine or how many parts are bolted on.

The following 4 users liked this post by smitty901:
Goose_NC (02-28-2024), Max Headflow (02-26-2024), Paintslinger16 (02-28-2024), RANGER73 (02-26-2024)
Old 02-26-2024, 12:04 PM
03fattyaz
Road Master
Veteran: Navy
Received 455 Likes on 224 Posts

Pre 74 (I think) the only numbers were on the engine lower case. So if the engine is pre 74 the title will be HD regardless of frame. If you put an S&S or ultima or whatever in a custom frame it’s not a Harley although some people still call them that.

If you put a Harley engine in a custom frame IMO it’s still a Harley. The title however may not say that. A lot of it depends on the state you live in.

Old 02-26-2024, 12:09 PM
brakeless
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,685 Likes on 2,723 Posts

If it looks like a duck...

Old 02-27-2024, 01:35 PM
smitty901
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Army
Received 10,358 Likes on 5,498 Posts

You can label anything custom it you want. We see it often for sale custom Harley. To many of us it is nothing but an everyday Harley with some stuff hung on. Or a rattle can paint job.