frame chopping

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2005, 10:55 AM
howie_the_yowie
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default frame chopping

Hello people
I just registered here after reading lots.
I have a hundred questions....

If I had an FLH frame or roller from the late 70's up until pre evos;
What work would be involved in fitting an Evo motor, or a twin cammer as a second choice?
I want some extended forks, can this all be done without major fabrication?
I have access to a engineering workshop,I can get machining done but is it possible without major hassles.

I guess a gearbox upgrade would be neccesary?

I am open to fitting or modifications...I like the retro/old look.
I want a newer driveline for reliability.
I am new to owning Harleys, I have had some Euro road bikes and cruisers...
I will be landing in Cali mid next year to shop around for parts, buy and party for a few months.
I am looking to ride and explore too....
I am glad I found this forum

Old 11-04-2005, 01:37 AM
pococj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,297 Likes on 484 Posts
Default RE: frame chopping

Welcome to da joint!

You asked so many questions my head is hurting!

Depending upon the frame modifications - stretch, especially in the down tubes - most anything can fit, but with sometimes serious modifications to mounts, etc. Stock 4 speed frame - an Evo will fit, but a Twinkie won't. The Evo will bolt right up to the existing mounts.

Extended forks as in fork tubes, or are you talking about making a springer or girder? If tubes, lots of maching, and they are "centerless ground" before final polish & chrome. Internal dimensions are critical.

You can still use a 4 speed ratchet top tranny, or a 4 speed rotary top tranny; you don't have to go to the 5 speed.

California, eh? Only Russell Mitchell (Exile) makes real bikes out that way. Well, maybe Zero Engineering, too.

Old 11-04-2005, 02:16 AM
panz4ever
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,346 Likes on 1,520 Posts