Classic All 'historic' bikes.

? on mid 30's VL

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2007, 05:36 PM
I doc
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? on mid 30's VL

Hello, I'm new to Harley's. I recently restored a 1970 Triumph TR6 last year and I'm bored so my uncle found me a mid 1930 VL model with a side car that I'm going to restore. My question is where do I start? Are there any good books I can get about model history? For my Triumph I got a workshop manual and parts manual, can I get the same for Harley's? I will have a lot of help for the resto from my uncle and his freinds but I would like to get some literature about this bike. I don't have any details on the bike yet. Hoepfully I'll have those in the next few days.

Thanks for you help

Peter [align=right][/align]

Old 02-27-2007, 07:54 PM
pittguy
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: ? on mid 30's VL

Motorbooks International should make a book youre after."How to Restore Your Harley-Davidson" They made these books for knuck,pans,side valves,and serv cars from 37 to 63.I also believe they made for the earlier yrs too.

Old 02-27-2007, 08:04 PM
pittguy
Outstanding HDF Member

http://www.vlheaven.com/newindex.html second paragraph down.

Old 02-28-2007, 10:50 AM
I doc
Intermediate

Thanks Pittguy, I'll check it out.

Old 02-28-2007, 02:27 PM
panz4ever
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,347 Likes on 1,520 Posts

Idoc, I have a 30-49 models ops, maintenance and spec manual that covers 1930-1949 models. It is a HD factory paper book from 1983 and breaks down 1930-34, 1935-40, 1940-46 and 1947-49. The manual is basically a compliation/synopsis of the riders handook foreach 5-year period listed above. Each section is about 30-35 pages (double-sided). I can try to copy it and see if the print quality is sufficient and send it to you. The mailing can't be more than a couple of bucks.

Old 02-28-2007, 07:05 PM
I doc
Intermediate