Carburetor Related Find discussions on carburetor related goodies here. Swap and trades? Rebuild information and tuning for the pre EFI systems.

CV Carb Tuning Issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2020, 09:26 AM
LIVINtheLIFE
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default CV Carb Tuning Issues

Well everyone I’ll be honest I’ve been fighting to properly tune my CV for 3 years now. Bike is an 2004 FLHRS, I bought it from original owner and he let the dealership do all his work, other then the Stage 1 SE slip-ons and SE Heavy Breather he had put on I assumed the bike was stock when I bought. At first it ran okay, but not great. Well enough that I could ride it for the rest of that summer. Following winter I did my own work, changed headers to S&S Power Tunes, White Bros. Slip ons(megaphone style) and cosmetics. That spring I wanted to re-tune the carb, added a Yost needle for easier tuning but was still coughing a bit, opened the carb up to check it out and what do I find, a DynoJet Kit that had been completely molested on install. Emulsion tube, needle jet, needle(shimmed to highest notch), slide drilled to 9/64!!!(yes I triple checked that part), chipped jets, basically all the stock parts were either modified in a bad way or replaced. I immediately did some research for some kits and come across CV Performance, I bought a new slide and their premium tuners kit. Installed it the minute it come in the mail, followed recommendations in instructions(7/64 drilled slide, jetting is 45/190, 2 turns out), it ran but was never perfect.