Carburetor Related Find discussions on carburetor related goodies here. Swap and trades? Rebuild information and tuning for the pre EFI systems.

Carb rebuilt...now for troubleshooting...

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2015, 08:45 PM
Dewyz1100
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Carb rebuilt...now for troubleshooting...

Greetings forum folks...newbie here to both the forum and CV carbs...

Over the holiday break I decided it was time I dove into the carb on my 2003 Road King...it had been experiencing the intermittent gasket leak popping, and seemed like it always needed some amount of choke even after riding...

I have the stock pipes, but with aftermarket slip on mufflers, stock air box, but a K&N filter within it.

I bought a James gasket kit, a Vance & Hines jet kit, Yost idle mix screw, and some cans of carb cleaner...

The tear down, cleaning, and rebuild went smoothly... I followed the directions in the jet kit (including the part about drilling out the vacuum port in the slide), but I read on here that many of you have mixed feelings about doing that modification...

The bike starts better than ever with hardly any choke, and idles nice after a minute or two the way I imagined it should...but I am having issues with anything much past the idle speed while sitting in neutral...no load...

Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe this to be a needle setting issue with the adjustable one that came with the jet kit...the directions said to put the E-clip on the 4th notch (out of 5)...so I am tempted to try it on the 3rd and see if this solves the issue...

Anyone else tinkered around with these kits...?

Please tell me that I did not screw up by drilling the vacuum hole in the slide...

Old 12-23-2015, 11:16 AM
chromelens
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Could you describe the running issue a little more in detail.

Old 12-23-2015, 11:46 AM
Dewyz1100
5th Gear