Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Polk mm651, pbr300x2 Install Notes and thoughts

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2013, 07:57 PM
SteelHorseSD
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polk mm651, pbr300x2 Install Notes and thoughts

After much research here I went with the popular polk/fosgate setup for my '06 streetglide. HUGE thanks to UltraNutz, and all the information he has graciously posted for everyone's benefit.. Could not have done this without his instructions. I owe him a beer or 10!

I had a couple follow up thoughts on the install that may help someone else in my position. There were a couple things I didn't understand as I'm a complete noob to stereo electrical. Here are a couple items, further dumbed down!

When coming up with my "shopping list" for this install, I didn't know if I needed an complete amp install kit or just the "power" kit. Turns out, only the power kit was needed. The 10awg was (for me) the hardest to find, and it appears there are 2 different types of fuses the come with. Not sure which is better. The speakers come with their own crossovers/wires. (This was noted in many posts/ in UN's instructions, but I had no clue what crossovers were, therefore I didn't know if I needed speaker wire or not)

Also, the polyfill comes in wads of it, or as batting. The batting are the flat pieces/sheets you need. I almost bought a bag of random wads, that wouldn't have worked so well.

You'll need electrical connectors (Duh) or better yet, be ready to do some soldering. I'm not very good at this, but I made do.

Amp grounding- As per the posted update from fosgate, I ran the ground all the way back to the battery. I'm still not sure if that's the best way to do it, or to just ground to the frame. Something to consider before you dive in.