Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why Mmats? Convince me please

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2020, 09:42 PM
Hale816
Cruiser
Received 50 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Why Mmats? Convince me please

So I’ve been researching speakers non stop for a couple months now for our 2020 RGL. The one speaker that seems to get rave reviews is the Mmats 601cx. Obviously it takes some tweaking to get them to fit in the factory locations but everyone seems to love them. My question is why or what makes them so much better than the hundreds of other speakers on the market? I see they have big magnets which used to mean something but no so much with newer technology and magnet types now available. I also see they are considered loud with a 95db rating. I’ve been around water sports And powersports for years and have used Polk, Kicker, Rockford Fosgate, and Wet Sounds in many different applications. Typically the higher dB gives you louder music out on the water but of those brands the Wet Sounds clearly out shined the rest, they were louder, cleaner, and more bass than any of the others and they were only a 90db speaker. So are the Mmats hands down the best at their price point or is there something comparable that fits the stock locations better?

Old 07-14-2020, 10:09 PM
travelingypsye
Stellar HDF Member
Received 655 Likes on 548 Posts

Find someone who has a set and listen for yourself. You are right as there are tons of different speakers out there and some sound damn good and others just don't. The mmats are just a warm, loud speaker that doesn't require a bunch f power and ae extremely cost effective. Hertz cpx 165's will fill the holes but are 2x the price of the mmats. Daimond audio has some new pro coax out but at $380 a set vs the mmats at $200, you tell me which would you buy giving both have good SQ?

Old 07-14-2020, 11:48 PM
SOFTPETER
Tourer
Received 50 Likes on 46 Posts