Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 SGS Audio help needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2018, 06:14 PM
Bigdog99
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2016 SGS Audio help needed

Hi There,
I am new here. I have a 2016 SGS. Last year I installed a RF PBR 300x2 and Infinity Kappa 62.11 in the fairing which was never very impressive. I am now looking to do some major changes to the bike and scrap all of that. I am looking for recommendations on a 4 channel amp, Lid Speakers and fairing speakers. Also will I have to flash the system (?) and what about those levelers (?) I am an electrician by trade and understand the ins and outs but I will also need to know the type of wire to use (flexibility and disconnects) to hit the rear speakers whereas there is no wire there now. I am sure someone makes the harnesses.
Any help would be terrific.

Old 11-08-2018, 04:32 AM
travelingypsye
Stellar HDF Member
Received 655 Likes on 548 Posts

Smart move to scrap the pbr amp. The first thing you will need is 1 or 2 bt 355 line levelers if you are keeping the stock head unit. If you have fade control on your hu then you will need 2 LL, one for the front and one for the rear. As far as rear lids go, it is hard to beat the Rockford fosgate rear lid kit. It comes with all the wiring and even though the speakers don't look like much, they sound good, can be heard at speed and are waterproof. For a 4 channel amp, it is hard to beat the stinger spx 700/4 as it is loud, easy to install and warm. Speakers are a personal preference and if keeping the fairing pods, then most will require the pods to be modified to fit a good speaker. For coax I like the hertz hcx 165's but there are a lot of different 6.5's out there and listening preference is different for everyone.

Just my thoughts.

Old 11-08-2018, 05:32 AM
Bigdog99
2nd Gear
Default good info