Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help Troubleshooting.

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2018, 11:02 AM
mhildebrandt
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Help Troubleshooting.

Let me start by saying I am a novice when it comes to audio, but I want to learn.

I have a 2014 Ultra Limited with Stage I Boom Audio. So I have a 4 speaker one amp setup. The speakers I have are HD 7600320 2ohm Boom Audio. When riding last year, my wife complained the right rear speaker didn't sound right. I would fade the speakers to the front and she would be happy. I started investigating the issue yesterday and found that the right rear speak was bad. That speaker tested as being open on the multi-meter and if I moved a different speaker to that channel, it work. So for that I believe I need a new speaker.

While investigating the rear, I found front right speaker was also not working. However, that speaker ohm'd out correctly and if I moved it to another channel, it worked without issue. So, I have the following questions:
1. How do I determine if the issue is a dead channel vs a wiring issue?
2. Can it be a dead channel in amp, or would the problem be in the head unit?
3. If it is a dead channel in the HU, what are my options.

My goal is to get the system that I have working again. My budget is whatever (within reason) it takes to get it working again.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Mark

Old 03-30-2018, 01:11 PM
BlackPearl#1
Stellar HDF Member
Received 126 Likes on 113 Posts

Originally Posted by mhildebrandt
Let me start by saying I am a novice when it comes to audio, but I want to learn.