Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help-adding rear speakers with stock HU

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2017, 08:15 AM
Raineman
Tourer
Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Help-adding rear speakers with stock HU

I am looking for some guidance/confirmation.

I have a '98 Electra Glide Classic with a stock head unit. I have replaced my front speakers with 6.5" Kenwoods (can't remember the models) with adapters. They are 2 ohm, I have been running them for a couple years now.

I have acquired some rear speaker pods, minus the controls, and I want to add them so I can give the Mrs. a little bit of sound back there.

Note: I do not have the money to go with a full blown audio upgrade at this time, so getting the rear speakers functional is my only concern for now.

After reading through the site here and trying to figure out a harness to get them hooked up, I came across the idea of just running new wires, in parallel with the front speakers.

If I get 2 ohm rear speakers I can run positive from my front speaker on the same side to positive on the rear and same for the negatives?

Is this correct?

Old 08-02-2017, 08:42 AM
Gannicus
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 412 Likes on 379 Posts

Are you sure those Kenwoods are 2 ohms? I went through every speaker kenwood had many moons ago and I can't remember any that were two ohms? I must have missed those. Anyway, Are there speakers in the rear pods now? Do you have an amp? Full blown audio doesn't have to be expensive. You can get great sound on that bike for $200 bucks.

This amp:
Amazon Amazon

and these speakers in the rear:
https://www.sonicelectronix.com/item...xoCi1oQAvD_BwE

Old 08-02-2017, 08:54 AM
SBates08
Extreme HDF Member
Received 1,239 Likes on 1,002 Posts